INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

项目介绍


【IFCE每周全球环境新闻】6.16-6.22

发行时间:2018-07-09

01 海平面上升引起的洪水威胁美国30多万沿海居民

由气候变化引起的海平面上升将给许多美国沿海社区带来生存危机。新的研究发现,在未来30年内,每两周将有多达311,000个房屋被洪水淹没。


专家警告说,如果温室气体排放没有受到严格限制,预计到2045年,总价值1,200亿美元的沿海住宅将会持续上涨的海洋淹没。这可能会给50万美国居民带来巨大的经济和精神上的损失,这些美国人每隔一周就会有地下室,后院,车库或客厅被淹没。


这样持续的洪水可能会降低房地产价格,并使某些地区的抵押贷款难以为续。同时,洪水保险费可能大幅上涨,人们将面临着增加清理成本或退回内陆高地的选择。

来源:卫报


02 澳大利亚濒危鹦鹉获国外捐赠支持

澳大利亚政府帮忙代理了一项价值20万美元的德国非营利协议,资助严重濒危的澳大利亚鹦鹉的保护工作。然而这项协议受到广泛批评,被认为是政府将保护受威胁物种的成本转移到了社区和慈善组织上的手段。


西部地面鹦鹉是澳大利亚仅有的三种地面鹦鹉之一,也是政府致力于帮助其作为其濒危物种战略一部分的20只鸟之一。自然保护组织表示,政府想通过国际捐赠将受威胁物种的成本越来越多的转移到志愿者和慈善机构的一个例子,当时它一直在试图阻止非盈利机构接受海外捐赠进行政治宣传工作。


据统计,在2015年的大火毁灭鹦鹉的栖息地后,很多鹦鹉仍处于野外。与该物种一起工作的志愿者说,鸟类迫切需要资金进行易位研究,以查看是否可以在另一部分地区挽救它们,使它们免于灭绝。

来源:卫报


03 开发商称,英国在潮汐领域错失领先优势

一系列领先的开发商告诉卫报,由于缺乏政府支持,英国正在抛弃治理全球浪潮和潮汐能产业的机会。该国目前被视为在捕获海洋可再生能源方面的世界领先者,但一些公司已经开始走向其他国家。这些公司表示,英国政府的支持匮乏使得法国和加拿大等其他国家处于优势地位,并利用新兴行业创造的就业机会。


潮汐能具有完全可靠的特殊优势,欧盟预计到2050年将安装100GW的潮汐能源设备,相当于100个大型常规发电站。但是,尽管英国政府为研发工作提供了良好的资金支持,但现在还没有将这些设备投入商业用途。根据猜测,英国政府将因成本太高拒绝斯旺西的潮汐堰坝计划,而在威尔士建造新的核电站。


可持续海洋能源公司是一家在苏格兰开发和测试其浮式潮汐涡轮机的英国公司,该公司目前正在将其设备运往加拿大,并援引该国政府的“更多支持”。另一家潮汐涡轮公司亚特兰蒂斯公司,拥有世界上第一个与电网连接的大型潮汐阵列项目,目前正在考虑进入法国,预计未来几个月将有重大政府招标。

来源: 卫报


04 每年有174,000吨塑料包装进入肯尼亚生态环境

一份新报告发现,每年有260,000吨塑料包装进入肯尼亚,其中估计有174,000吨残留在生态自然环境中或非法倾倒。


由丹麦环境保护署委托提供的肯尼亚的塑料包装废物流量报告发现大约48,000吨被送到填埋场,37,000吨被送去回收利用。肯尼亚鱼西巴尔干地区的国家类似,回收材料主要由废物收集着收集。根据数据显示,该国的废物回收率仅为15%。


这份报告发表差不多一年之后,肯尼亚去年8月提出禁止发行塑料袋,因为研究显示,仅在超市每年就有大约1亿个塑料袋被分发,其中许多塑料袋都消失在自然环境中。肯尼亚跟随卢旺达,毛里塔尼亚和厄立特里亚等其他非洲国家的脚步,被视为世界上最为棘手的国家之一。在肯尼亚发现出售或生产塑料袋可能面临高达400万肯尼亚先令(30,000英镑)的罚款,或长达四年的监禁。

来源:Resource Magazine


05 欧洲气候变化和强风暴

在世界各地的专家寻求将全球温度稳定在高于工业化前1.5或2摄氏度的方法时,科学家们正在分析世界温度提升伴读的风险。越来越多的研究发现,2摄氏度的世界远比1.5摄氏度的世界差。其中一项发表在“地球系统动力学”(Earth System Dynamics)的新研究显示,欧洲冬季风暴的严重程度将会更加严重。


随着全球升温从1.5摄氏度升至2摄氏度,欧洲冬季风暴可能加剧,包括更多的降水(降雨、冻雨和雪)和更高的风速。暴风雨天气的严重加剧主要是因为大尺度大气环流的加强和东北向以及北大西洋上中纬度的西风转向。


极端风力的强度也将在东北大西洋和北欧增加,这可能会影响内陆和沿海基础设施以及海上风电场。

来源:Environmental Defense Fund


06 印度尼西亚村民用创新方式适应气候变化

气候变化已经影响到世界各地的人们 - 所以适应是至关重要的。根据新的研究,在一些地方,人们正在寻找适应的方法。一项新的研究表明,使用大自然来适应强烈的风暴和干旱可以在变化的气候中取得最大效果。


在婆罗洲岛和爪哇岛的一些印度尼西亚村庄,人们沿着河岸砍伐树木出售或作为燃料。如果没有那里的树木作为缓冲,那么土壤会侵蚀溪流,污染水源。与此同时,这些岛屿正在经历更多的强烈雨雪天气,使得种植食物变得更加困难。


在另一个案例中,村长注意到森林正在退化。有更多的土壤进入河流,导致越来越多的洪水。这位先进的村长已经制定了规定, 限制当地村民砍掉河流两端的树木。他规定村民们可以使用树枝和树叶,但不能砍树,来帮助稳定土壤。在这种情况下,木材等产品会随之减少,但同时也促进了长期的环境优势。村民们跟随者村长的倡导,拒绝成为在河流边砍树的人。

来源:Conservation International


07 英国政府表示,公园绿地时日无多

农村团体和环保主义者联盟呼吁政府保护英国的公园和绿色空间。这些公园和绿地在多年的预算削减之后处于“危机点”。


该组织今天提出了一项“公园宪章”,呼吁英格兰,威尔士和苏格兰的环境部长们将所有公园和绿色空间的法律管理要求维持为“高标准”。组织还呼吁政府“确保每个公民能够在步行距离内进入高质量的公共绿地。”


支持新宪章的团体Fields of Trust首席执行官海伦·格里芬斯(Helen Griffiths)表示,它们的研究证明公园和绿色空间对人们的身体和心理健康有益。“这些都是宝贵的西方。我们可以伸展、呼吸、跑步和玩耍。我们需要保护它们,让人们可以永久享受这些宝贵的空间。因为一旦失去,它们就永远失去了。”

来源:卫报


08 经欧洲法院裁决,德国因违反欧盟环境法律而被判罚款数十亿美元

欧洲法院在被裁定违反环境法之后可能会被欧洲法院罚款数十亿欧元。欧洲法院裁定德国违反了布鲁塞尔指令,未能采取足够的措施来解决水污染问题。欧盟最高法院对卢森堡的判决是在对德国水中硝酸盐含量日益增加的担忧之后出现的。硝酸盐被广泛用作肥料,但化学物质会对环境造成危害,并通过水污染造成健康风险。


欧洲法院表示,德国政府需要采取额外措施保护饮用水。如果孕妇和婴儿饮用高含量的化学物质,可能会受到特别严重的影响。德国在欧盟地下水中硝酸盐含量仅次于马耳他,位居第二。德国在2016年11月首次由欧盟委员会就此问题提起诉讼,现在可能面临严重罚款。

来源:Express


09 苏格兰水务和苏格兰环境保护署签署新合作协议

苏格兰水务和苏格兰环境保护局(SEPA)合作,专家们将研究如何回收苏格兰污水中的资源。这两个组织签署了一份可持续增长协议(SGA),重点是寻找从苏格兰水务管理和生成的废弃物中回收更多资源的新的方法。


根据该协议,Sepa和苏格兰水务已承诺通过开发、试用,和寻求提供创新的方式,最大限度地从苏格兰的污水中回收资源,并将其重新纳入“循环经济”来帮助“创造财富而非浪费”。苏格兰水务公司表示,这一合作关系将推动苏格兰政府的能源战略核心目标 - 到2050年实现能源的低碳化,并将有助于实现苏格兰政府气候变化计划规定的到2050年达到80%的碳减排目标。

来源:Insider.UK


10 中国向世界甩出一亿一千一百万吨垃圾问题

很少有人认为使用塑料是一种有价值的全球商品。然而自1992年以来,中国已经进口了1.06亿吨旧塑料袋、塑料瓶、包装和集装箱,价值576亿美元。因此,去年中国宣布不再接收其它国家垃圾是,各国政府只知道他们将要遇到问题,却并不知道问题有多大。


到2030年,预计有1.11亿公吨旧塑料需要埋在其他地方或回收利用,或无法生产。这是佐治亚大学研究人员对联合国全球贸易数据进行的新分析得出的结论。所有这些塑料中近五分之四已被扔进垃圾填埋场或环境。其中十分之一已被烧毁。每年有数百万吨的海洋到达海洋,淹没海滩并且毒害北太平洋的广阔河段。有史以来生产的塑料中仅有9%被回收利用。 2016年中国的年度总量略超过一半,即740万吨。

来源:Fortune





©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com

INTERNATIONAL FUND FOR

CHINA’S ENVIRONMENT

PROGRAMS


IFCE Global Environmental Weekly Events [6/16 - 6/22/2018]

Release time:2018-07-09


01 Flooding from Sea Level Rise Threatens Over 300,000 US Coastal Homes

Sea level rise driven by climate change is set to pose an existential crisis to many US coastal communities, with new research finding that as many as 311,000 homes face being flooded every two weeks within the next 30 years.


The swelling oceans are forecast repeatedly to soak coastal residences collectively worth $120bn by 2045 if greenhouse gas emissions are not severely curtailed, experts warn. This will potentially inflict a huge financial and emotional toll on the half a million Americans who live in the properties at risk of having their basements, backyards, garages or living rooms inundated every other week.


This persistent flooding is likely to rattle the housing market by lowering property prices and making mortgages untenable in certain areas. Flood insurance premiums could rise sharply, with people faced with the choice of increasing clean-up costs or retreating to higher ground inland.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/jun/17/sea-level-rise-impact-us-coastal-homes-study-climate-change



02 Foreign Donations Prop Up Australia’s Endangered Parrot Response

The Turnbull government helped broker a $200,000 agreement for a German not-for-profit to fund conservation work for a critically endangered Australian parrot, bolstering criticism it is shifting the cost of protecting threatened species to community and philanthropic organisations.


The western ground parrot is one of only three ground nesting parrots found in Australia and is one of 20 birds the government has committed to helping as part of its threatened species strategy. Conservation groups say the international donation is an example of the government increasingly trying to move the cost of threatened species work onto volunteers and charities and at a time when it has been trying to stop not-for-profits from accepting overseas donations for political advocacy work.


It’s estimated less than 150 of the parrots remain in the wild after fire ripped through their habitat in 2015. Volunteers working with the species say the bird urgently needs funding for a translocation study to see if an alternative wild population can be established in another part of WA to try to save it from extinction.

Souce: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/jun/19/endangered-australian-parrot-relies-on-government-deal-with-german-charity



03 “Huge Mistake”: Britain Throwing Away Lead In Tidal Energy, Say Developers

Britain is throwing away its opportunity to rule the global wave and tidal energy sector due to lack of government support, a series of leading developers have told the Guardian. The nation is currently seen as a world leader in capturing renewable energy from the oceans but some companies are already heading for new shores. This is putting other countries, such as France and Canada, in prime position to capitalise on the jobs being created by the emerging industry, the companies say.


Tidal energy has the particular advantage of being entirely reliable and the European Union predicts 100GW of ocean energy will be installed by 2050, the equivalent of 100 large conventional power stations. But despite good UK government funding for research and development, support to put the devices into commercial use is now missing. Ministers are soon expected to reject a tidal barrage scheme in Swansea as too costly, but to back a new nuclear plant in Wales.


Sustainable Marine Energy, a British company that developed and tested its floating tidal turbines in Scotland, is now taking its device to Canada, citing “more support” from the government there. Another tidal turbine company, Atlantis, whose MeyGen project in Orkney is the world’s first large-scale tidal array connected to the grid, is looking to France, where a major government tender is expected in the coming months.

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/jun/19/huge-mistake-britain-throwing-away-lead-in-tidal-energy-say-developers



04 174,000 Tonnes of Plastic Packaging Lost Annually in Kenyan Environment

A new report finds that 260,000 tonnes of plastic packaging enters Kenya each year, and of that an estimated 174,000 tonnes are left in the environment or dumped illegally.


The report, ‘Plastic Packaging Waste Flow in Kenya’ – commissioned by the Danish Environmental Protection Agency and delivered by Eunomia Research and Consulting in partnership with Capital Operating Partners – also found that around 48,000 tonnes are sent to landfill and 37,000 tonnes are sent for recycling. These figures result in an estimated recycling rate of 15 per cent – placing Kenya at a similar level to countries in the Western Balkans, where materials for recycling are mainly collected by waste pickers.


The report comes almost a year after Kenya introduced a ban on carrier bags in August of last year after research revealed that around 100 million plastic bags were handed out annually in supermarkets alone, with many ending up in the natural environment. It followed in the footsteps of other African countries such as Rwanda, Mauritania and Eritrea and was seen as one of the toughest in the world, with culprits found selling or producing bags facing a potential fine of up to four million Kenya shillings (£30,000) or up to four years in jail.

Source: Resource Magazine

https://resource.co/article/174000-tonnes-plastic-packaging-lost-annually-kenyan-environment-12693


05 Climate Change and Severe Storms in Europe

As experts around the world consider ways to stabilize global temperatures at either 1.5 or 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels, scientists are meticulously analyzing the risks of a world that warms by that additional half a degree. A growing number of studies have found that a 2 degree Celsius world is far worse than a 1.5 degree Celsius world. One of those new studies, published in Earth System Dynamics, shows how severe winter storms in Europe will become even more severe.


Severe European winter storms may include even more precipitation (rain, freezing rain, and snow) and higher wind speeds as the world warms from 1.5 to 2 degrees Celsius – making the already severe storms even more severe. The severity of stormy weather is expected to intensify, largely because of the intensification and northeastward shift of large-scale atmospheric circulation and the associated mid-latitude westerly winds over the North Atlantic.


The intensity of wind extremes will also increase over the northeast Atlantic and northern Europe, which may impact inland and coastal infrastructures as well as offshore wind farms.

Source: Environmental Defense Fund

http://blogs.edf.org/climate411/2018/06/19/climate-change-and-severe-storms-in-europe-new-science-shows-we-need-a-lower-temperature-target/


06 In Indonesia, Villagers find innovative ways to adapt to climate change

Climate change is already affecting people around the world - so adapting is crucial. In some places, people are finding ways to adapt, according to new research. A new study shows that using nature to adapt to intense storms and drought can be effective for thriving in a changing climate.


In some Indonesian villages on Borneo Island and Java, people cut down trees along the banks of rivers to sell or use for fuel. Without the trees there as a buffer, the soil erodes into the streams, swallowing up the water or turning it murky brown. At the same time, these islands are experiencing more instances of intense rain and drought, making it more difficult to grow food.


In another case, the village chief noticed that the forest was getting very degraded. There was more soil going to the river and this was increasing floods. The very progressive village chief made a rule that people couldn’t cut the trees at the top of the river anymore. They could use the branches and the leaves, but not the trees, so they would help to stabilize the soil. In this case, some products decreased, like the wood because they couldn’t use it, but the long-term benefits compensated for it. This was the initiative of one village chief, but the people followed it. There was some social pressure not to be “that person” who cuts the trees along the river.

Source: Conservation International

https://blog.conservation.org/2018/06/in-indonesia-villagers-find-innovative-ways-to-adapt-to-climate-change/


07 “Time Running Out” for UK Parks, Government Told

A coalition of countryside groups and environmentalists are calling on the government to protect the UK’s parks and green spaces which are at “crisis point” following years of swingeing budget cuts.

The group has today put forward a “Charter for Parks”which calls on ministers in England, Wales and Scotland to make it a legal requirement for all parks and green spaces to be maintained and managed to a “good standard.” It also calls on them “to recognise the right of every citizen to have access within walking distance to a good-quality public green space.”


Helen Griffiths, chief executive of Fields in Trust, one of the groups supporting the new charter, said its research proved parks and green spaces “have proven physical and mental health benefits.” “These are valuable places; places where we can all move, breathe, run and play. We need to champion and support these precious spaces by protecting them for people to enjoy in perpetuity. Because once lost, they are lost forever.”

Source: The Guardian

https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/jun/21/time-running-out-for-uk-parks-government-told


08 Germany ‘To Be Fined Billions’ for Breaking EU Environmental Laws After ECJ Ruling

Germany could be fined billions of euros by the European Court of Justice (ECJ) after being found guilty of breaking environmental laws.The ECJ ruled that Germany breached a Brussels directive by failing to take enough action to tackle water pollution. The verdict by the EU's highest court, based in Luxembourg, came after growing concerns about the levels of nitrates in German water. Nitrates are widely used as fertilisers, but the chemical can harm the environment and cause health risks through water pollution.


The ECJ said Germany’s government needed to take extra measures to protect drinking water. Pregnant women and babies can be particularly badly affected if they drink water with high levels of the chemical. Germany has the second-highest level of nitrate in groundwater in the EU, behind only Malta. Germany was first sued by the European Commission over the issue in November 2016, and could now face a heavy fine.

Source: Express

https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/977468/Germany-European-Court-Justice-ECJ-EU-environment-water-pollution-nitrates


09 Scottish Water and Scottish Environment Protection Agency Sign New Partnership

Experts will examine ways to recycle the resources contained in Scotland's sewage through a partnership between Scottish Water and the Scottish Environment Protection Agency (Sepa). The two organisations have signed a Sustainable Growth Agreement (SGA) focused on finding new ways to recover more resources from the waste Scottish Water manages and generates.


Under the agreement, Sepa and Scottish Water have pledged to develop, trial and then seek to deliver innovative ways of helping "generate wealth not waste" by maximising the recovery of resources from Scotland's sewage and putting them back into a "circular economy". Scottish Water said the partnership will contribute to the Scottish Government's Energy Strategy core objective of decarbonisation of energy by 2050, and will also help towards achieving the carbon emissions reduction target of 80% by 2050 set out by the Scottish Government's Climate Change Plan.

Source: Insider.UK

https://www.insider.co.uk/news/scottish-water-scottish-environment-protection-12759690


10 China Just Handed The World a 111 Million Ton Trash Problem

Few people consider used plastic to be a valuable global commodity. Yet China has imported 106 million tons of old bags, bottles, wrappers and containers worth $57.6 billion since 1992, the first year it disclosed data. So when the country announced last year that it finally had enough of everybody else’s junk, governments all over the world only knew they had a problem. They just didn’t know exactly how large it was.


Now they know. By 2030, an estimated 111 million metric tons of used plastic will need to be buried or recycled somewhere else—or not manufactured at all. That’s the conclusion of a new analysis of UN global trade data by University of Georgia researchers. Nearly four-fifths of all that plastic has been thrown into landfills or the environment. A tenth of it has been burned. Several million tons reach oceans every year, sullying beaches and poisoning vast reaches of the northern Pacific. Just nine percent of the total plastic ever generated has been recycled. China took in just over half the annual total in 2016, or 7.4 million metric tons.

Source: Fortune

http://fortune.com/2018/06/20/china-trash-plastic-imports/





©2017 The International Fund for China’s Environment All Rights Reserved.

2421 Pennsylvania Ave.NW Washington,DC 20037-1718 USA

TeL 202-822-2141 Email: ifce.adm@gmail.com